31st July 2014 – Daily Log

cal1
I am a runner who was injured with medial tibial stress syndrome (shin splints). After having trouble getting back to running for 9 months I decided it was time to start again. All in all I have only ran for about 4 or 5 months with success but I’ll be breaking that starting today. I will be blogging every day giving you all my training tips and my complete training schedules. I will also write monthly to pull out all the good and bad points of my training, and things I could do better in the following months. Feel free to use my blogs how you will at your own peril.

Sleeping Habits –

Waking time – 08:45
Sleeping time  – 23:30

Took me a while to sleep last night. I went to bed at 2300 but probably didn’t sleep until about 2345. I kept playing over in my head what to write on my blog, what to change or keep or add. I think I’ll shut off from this tonight for about 9pm and unwind to a movie or something so I will hopefully sleep a little better.

Nutrition –

Breakfast –6 pieces of wholemeal toast with baked beans
Lunch – whole wheat pasta with chickpeas, onion, garlic, italian herbs, turmeric and pepper
Dinner – Salad, prawns, lettuce, kale, cucumber, red pepper, grapes, watermelon, walnuts, ginger, olive oil, sweet onion, 70% less fat honey and mustard salad dressing.
Snacks – apple, walnuts
Drinks – 1.5 L water and USN protein shake (chocolate) with water.
Supplements – 1g calcium, multi vit and min tablet, iodine, krill oil

Moods-
Feeling good today. I am studying my high school education at the moment as I missed it when I wa looked after by the government when I was a teenager. I’m currently on physics and it’s driving me crazy, though I’m picking it up now. 🙂

Activities

Type – Rehab – stretches – Core
Time – 09:30
Distance – NA
Speed – NA
Calories – NA
Weather – NA
Footwear – NA
Terrain – NA
Exertion Level 1-10 (10 being the hardest) – 3
Injuries – NA

Activities Details
First of all I went ahead and did the exercises I have been given by my physio to help with my tibial stress syndrome. These are the videos I was sent to follow. I have been doing this daily for 3 days now but have just emailed my physio to check if I am supposed to do these daily or not.

Heel Walking http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pwWOZGyE3DQ
Shin splints exercise http://www.kinetic-revolution.com/secret-shin-strengthening-exercise/

Shin splints exercise  http://www.kinetic-revolution.com/three-exercises-for-shin-splints-mtss/
Running Calf Strength and Ankle Drills

Calf strength and ankle drills http://www.kinetic-revolution.com/running-calf-strength-exercise-ankling-drill/

 

Downward Dog Pose https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cKx-LPTtvBQ

 

Shin splints exercise  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=crxG22quZus

 

After doing these I moved onto day 3 of the 30 day free challenge I was recommended to do by my physio also. I must say after only a few days I am already feeling more flexibility in my hips and adductors and my balance is also improving. There’s a hamstring exercise on there that is still difficult for me to do. Seems my hamstrings are rather tight and I struggle lengthening it out in the air while lay on my back.

Sign up for free here. http://www.kinetic-revolution.com/30daychallenge

 

I also did a core workout today. I have done this video once before and I kinda liked it so thought I’d stick with this for a few weeks before trying out another video to mix things up. Don’t you just love Youtube? This is the video I used. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v-KZ3R1f2Ps

 

Events –

no events lined up just yet. Keep an eye on this section where you will see upcoming events and blogs on events that I have already completed.

___________________________________________
xTgbGMbTA

Thoughts for the day

• My physiotherapist has confirmed that I can start training again in a weeks time. I’m going to make my first training session Tuesday 5th August 2014. She advised another week make sure the right muscle groups are being activated through the exercises and my flexibility is improving.

• I signed back up to Runners World Magazine after missing it for some time now.

• I have worked on a training plan for the next 2 years day by day today. It’s rather complex but should take me from couch to 5k. Then onto a marathon distance 9 months later. I have then planned a 14 week training plan for my second marathon and then a 16 week plan for my 3rd marathon in Feb 2016 all. I don’t want to focus too much on the future after that as I know many things can go wrong and also many things can go right so changes will likely be made throughout. It is my plan to have a few easier months until summer after my 3rd marathon and then start working on a new training plan for my first ultra which will likely be a 50 mile run.

• I checked my lung capacity peak flow today. The last time I checked was about 3 weeks ago and I was at 500 L/min and today I am 550 L/min. I think this is about average. I’m looking forward for it to increase when I start running again.  Thanks to peakflow.com for helping me work out averages for my age and weight.
PeakFlow

 

Leave a Reply

